Live discussion of the NBA 2022 Draft

The Portland Trail Blazers enter tonight’s NBA draft armed with seventh, 46th, and 57th picks. It is the first time the franchise has participated in a draft with a lottery pick since CJ McCollum was taken 10th place in 2013. Yes, the franchise also picked 10th place in 2017, but only after that was agreed a night contract with the Sacramento Kings.

Orlando Magic owns the first selection for the first time since choosing Dwight Howard in 2004. The draft order includes the Oklahoma City Thunder, Houston Rockets, Sacramento Kings, Detroit Pistons and Indiana Pacers. However, there is always a chance that one or two trades will occur overnight.

Auburn’s Jabari Smith Jr., Gonzaga’s Chet Holmgren, Duke’s Paolo Banchero, and Purdue’s Jaden Ivey have been widely referred to as the names most likely to be called at the start of the proceedings.

Here is the critical information if you want to watch:

  • Date and time: Tonight, 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT
  • Where is it: Barclays Center, New York
  • TV coverage: First round on ABC, all draft on ESPN.

Please remember our thread guidelines.

  • Don’t troll in your comments; create conversation rather than destroy it
  • Remember Blazer’s Edge is basically a non-vulgar site
  • Out of respect for the broadcast partners who paid to bring the game, mentions of “alternative” (read: illegal) display methods are not allowed in our threads.
  • The comment system was updated over the summer. They are still working on optimizing it for Game Day threads like ours. If you don’t like clicking “Upload more comments”, remember that the “Z” key can be your friend. Automatically upload the latest comments.

That’s all! Have fun and we hope the Blazers select and / or trade to improve the squad in 2022-23

We will update draft selections and negotiations as they happen here.

First round

1 Orlando – Paolo Banchero, PF, duke

2 Oklahoma City – Chet Holmgren, PF / C, Gonzaga

3 Houston – Jabari Smith Jr., PF, Auburn

4 Sacramento – Keegan Murray, F, Iowa

5 Detroit – Jaden Ivey, G, Purdue

6 Indiana – Ben Mathurin, SG / SF, Arizona

7 Portland – Shaedon Sharpe, SG / SF, Kentucky

8 New Orleans (from Los Angeles Lakers) – Dyson Daniels, G, G-League Ignite

9 San Antonio – Jeremy Sochan, F, Baylor

10 Washington – Johnny Davis, SG / SF, Wisconsin

11 Oklahoma City (from New York Knicks) – Ousmane Dieng, F, New Zealand Breakers (NBL)

12 Oklahoma City (from Clipper of Los Angeles) – Jalen Williams, Sol, Santa Clara

13 Detroit Pistons (from Charlotte) – Jalen Duren, C, Memphis

14 Cleveland – Ochai Agbaji, SG, Kansas

15 Charlotte (from New Orleans) – Mark Williams, C, duke

16 Atlanta – AJ Griffin, SF, Duke

17 Houston (from Brooklyn) – Tari Eason, F, LSU

18 Chicago – Dalen Terry, G, Arizona

19 Memphis (from Minnesota) Jake LaRavia, F, Wake Forrest

20 San Antonio (from Toronto) – Malaki Branham, G, Ohio State

21 Denver – Christian Braun, SG, Kansas

22 Minnesota (from Utah) – Kessler Walker, C, Auburn

23 Memphis (from Philadelphia) – David Roddy, F, State of Colorado

24 Milwaukee – MarJon Beauchamp, SF, G-League Ignite

25 San Antonio (from Boston) – Blake Wesley, G, Notre Dame

26 Houston (from Dallas) – Wendell Moore Jr., SF, Duke

27 Miami – Nikola Jovic, F, Serbia

28 Golden State – Patrick Baldwin Jr., SF, Milwaukee

29 Houston (from Memphis) – TyTy Washington Jr., G, Kentucky

30 Denver (from Oklahoma City) – Peyton Watson, F, UCLA

Second round

31 Indiana (from Houston via Cleveland) – Andrew Nembhard, G, Gonzaga

32 Orlando – Caleb Houstan, F, Michigan

33 Toronto (from Detroit via San Antonio, Washington and Chicago) – Christian Koloko, C, Arizona

34 Oklahoma City – Jaylin Williams, F, Arkansas

35 LA Lakers (from Orlando via Indiana via Milwaukee) – Max Christie, G, State of Michigan

36 Detroit (from Portland) – Gabriele Procida, G, Italy

37 Dallas (from Sacramento) – Jaden Hardy, G, G-League Ignite

38 Memphis (from San Antonio, via LA Lakers, Chicago and Washington) – Kennedy Chandler, PG, Tennessee

39 Cleveland (from San Antonio via Utah) – Khalifa Diop, C, Gran Canaria

40 Charlotte (from Minnesota, Washington via Cleveland) – Bryce McGowens, G, Nebraska

41 New Orleans – EJ Liddell, F, State of Ohio

42 New York – Trevor Keels, G, Duke

43 LA Clippers – Moussa Diabate, F, Michigan

44 Golden State (from Atlanta) – Ryan Rollins, G, Toledo

45 Minnesota (from Charlotte) – Josh Minott, G, Memphis

46 Denver (from Portland, via Brooklyn and Detroit) – Ismael Kamagate, C, Paris Basketball

47 Memphis (from Cleveland via New Orleans and Atlanta) – Vince Williams Jr., SG, VCU

48 Indiana (from Minnesota) – Kendall Brown, G, Baylor

49 Cleveland (from Sacramento via Chicago, Memphis and Detroit) – Isaiah Mobley, F, USC

50 Minnesota (from Denver via Philadelphia) – Matteo Spagnolo, SG, Vanoli Cremona (Italy)

51 Atlanta (from Golden State via Toronto and Philadelphia) – Tyrese Martin, G, UConn

52 New Orleans (from Utah) – Karlo Matkovic, PF / C, Mega Basket (Serbia)

53 Boston – JD Davison, PG, Alabama

– Milwaukee (lost)

– Miami (from Philadelphia via Denver; forfeited from Miami)

54 Washington (from Dallas) – Yannick Nzosa, C, Unicaja (Spain)

55 Golden State – Gui Santos, SF, Minas (Brazil)

56 Cleveland (from Miami via Indiana) – Luke Travers, SG / SF, Perth Wildcats (NBL)

57 Portland (from Memphis via Utah) – Jabari Walker, F, Colorado

58 Milwaukee (from Indiana and Phoenix) – Hugo Besson, G, New Zealand Breakers (NBL)

Leave a Comment