LeBrun: Nazem Kadri waits, then celebrates and Patrick Kane knows the feeling

TAMPA, Florida – The puck entered. Then came the delayed reaction. Then came Patrick Kane’s phone and it exploded.

Yes, the same feeling in the arena, 12 years later.

I’ve been there for both goals.

Kane’s Cup extraordinary goal for the Chicago Blackhawks in Philadelphia in June 2010 took a few minutes to register, and Nazem Kadri’s goal for the Colorado Avalanche in a pivotal match of the Stanley Cup 4 final here on Wednesday night felt like a replay.

“Two very comparable situations, right? Because of the reaction on the ice and the guys who didn’t really know what was going on, ”Kane said Atletico on the phone from Chicago late Wednesday night.

As soon as Kadri’s extra-time goal was confirmed, giving the AVS a 3-2 win over the Tampa Bay Lightning and a 3-1 lead in the series, Kane started getting messages on his phone.

Deja vu all over again.

“Quite nice to hear different people tonight and bring back memories. It had been 12 years now, “Kane said.” You can definitely see the similarities to both lenses, for sure. “

Kadri didn’t know what to think at first.

“I was trying to go far. I knew I got a nice shot and I might have a chance, “Kadri said.” I actually thought it was originally, but then (Andrei) Vasilevskiy tricked me there. I thought maybe it was in his arm .. .

“It was a kind of two-second confusion there and then I saw everyone running on the ice, and that’s how I realized it was a good goal.”

It immediately made me think of Kane in Philadelphia in 2010. The difference at the time was that Kane immediately knew the record was in, even though hardly anyone else knew at that moment.

“Yes, when he came in I saw him go through the goalkeeper’s legs, hit the back pad (net) there and somehow stuck on the back pad,” Kane said of his winner in Game 6. “The referee was right in front of me and I didn’t see any reaction from him. The building was quiet. There was no real reaction from anyone. I think that’s why I celebrated like that, to be honest, because I wanted to show that the puck was on the net and it was a goal. I saw him go online immediately.

“And I think Sharpie (Patrick Sharp) saw that it worked out too. But it was a similar reaction to tonight as regards the guys waiting for confirmation on the ice to make sure the puck was in and it was a good goal. “

The funny thing is that Kane – from his sofa in Chicago watching TV – immediately thought Kadri had scored.

“It immediately felt like he walked in,” Kane said. “And I didn’t know if I was seeing something or what because I didn’t know where the record was next. It seemed to me that he had entered and had not returned to the ice. I didn’t know where he had gone. And then you see, I think it was (Bowen) Byram flying in there to point out that the puck was in the net. It was a rather strange situation. “

Well, just like in 2010.

“See a goal like that tonight and bring back the memories,” said Kane. “Similar situation for sure. But it was a great move by Kadri to break free and shoot at the net. Pretty elegant goal from him. Much nicer than what I scored. But it’s definitely funny how both situations arise and all the confusion on the ice. “

What wasn’t funny for the Lightning, at least, was the claim that Kadri’s extra-time goal shouldn’t count because the AVS had six skaters on the ice. Not only should the goal have been disallowed, Bolts feel, but the penalty from too many men would have given Lightning a play of power in extra time. Let’s talk about a double whammy.

Lightning head coach Jon Cooper was too upset and emotional after the game to get past the first question about his media availability, and you can see why, as he politely told the assembled media that he would be talking about it on Thursday.

Video replays clearly show six skaters on the ice, with Kadri jumping for Nathan MacKinnon at the start and already close to the center of the ice with MacKinnon still not quite out.

As a member of the Lightning organization said via text message, there were too many “30 feet” men.

But he was not called by the officials on the ice. And it’s a game that isn’t reviewable.

League hockey operations released a statement late Wednesday evening:

“A penalty of too many men on the ice is a judgment that can be made by any of the four referees on the ice. After the game, hockey operations met with the four officers as per their normal protocol. In discussing the goal of victory, each of the four referees warned that they did not see too many men on the ice situation during the game. This call is not subject to video review by either Hockey Ops or ice officials. “

Whenever there is something so controversial in the playoffs, it usually leads to a rule change along the way. Think San Jose’s goal against St. Louis a few years ago and the rule change that now allows the NHL Situation Room to review hand passes to disallow a goal now.

It wouldn’t surprise me if NHL GMs and league hockey operations executives debated whether too many men should be reviewable.

Not that it would help the Lightning in the here and now. It was a crushing defeat and now Tampa Bay needs to win three straight wins, including two in Denver.

And so Kadri’s extra-time goal, in itself a great story given his return from injury and the fact that he’s clearly not 100% healthy yet, will have some controversy when we look back due to too many men not calling. .

But it was Kadri’s hellish move to get around Mikhail Sergachev. Yes, it probably should have been too many men, but it’s not like Kadri took advantage of it. He made an unreal move to score the winner.

And, in that moment, it was hard not to remember 12 years ago of another great goal in the Cup final in extra time with an odd delayed reaction.

Don’t forget those.

(Photo by Nazem Kadri and teammates: Mark J. Rebilas / USA Today)

.

Leave a Comment