“I don’t know all the guys who haven’t won the MVP, so I’ll go with myself”: when Dwyane Wade had a funny reason to choose himself as the best player to never win the MVP

In 2021, Dwyane Wade motivated why he selected himself as the best player of all superstars who have never won the regular season MVP.

Dwyane Wade he is one of the most adept guards at setting foot on hardwood in the NBA. Being the fastest player on the pitch at any given moment, “The Flash” was able to get buckets at will and at the same time would have turned off the best player on the defensive side.

After playing 1,054 league games, the former Miami Heat legend averaged 22 points, 5.4 assists and 4.7 rebounds with 48% of shots from the field in a distinguished 16-year career.

Also read: How a deal revolving around Miami restaurants went wrong and resulted in a 9-hour long testimony

D-Wade ended his career with a rather ornate resume: 13 All-Stars selections, 8 All-NBA selections, 3 All-Defensive selections, 1 scoring title, 3 championships and a Finals MVP.

The only hardware missing from its stacked locker is the coveted Maurice Podoloff Trophy. And according to the former two-way guard, he was the best player ever not to win the prestigious MVP award.

Did Dwyane Wade ever deserve the honor of Most Valuable Player?

A few months ago, D-Wade made an appearance on a WIRED video in which he answered some questions from fans on Twitter. One of the many intriguing questions was:

Who is the best player who has never won the regular season NBA MVP?

I say Dwayne Wade

Giving an honest answer, Wade said he doesn’t know all the players who have never won an MVP. Ultimately agree with the user @ClayDade, Dwyane said:

“I don’t know all the guys who haven’t won an NBA regular season MVP. So Clay, I’ll go with you, that Dwyane Wade.

It seems strange that Wade, despite being a generational talent, never got his hands on the MVP trophy. During his early days with Miami, there were a few seasons where he played exceptionally well.

Notably, the 2008-2009 campaign was one in which Dwyane had a real chance to win the award.

With an average of 30.2 points (he led the NBA), 7.5 assists, 5 assists, 2.2 steals and 1.3 blocks per game, it was arguably one of the best individual seasons of his career. Unfortunately, the Heat only finished 5th in the Eastern Conference, resulting in Wade finishing 3rd in the vote.

LeBron James (28.4 / 7.6 / 7.2), who led the Cavs to a 66-16 best in the league that season, won his first of 4 MVPs. And Kobe Bryant (26.8 / 5.2 / 4.9) finished 2nd.

Throughout the history of the championship, there have been several legends who have failed to win the MVP award. Dominique Wilkins, Isiah Thomas, Patrick Ewing, Dikembe Mutombo and Chris Paul, among a whole roster of illustrious superstars.

Clearly, to win the MVP you need to have a surreal season.

Also Read: Billionaire LeBron James Admits Fitness Is Not Top Priority During First 6 Seasons In Cleveland

Leave a Comment