Alex Ovechkin, John Carlson, and Martin Fehervary are being considered for the end-of-season NHL Awards

The Washington Capitals returned home empty-handed at the 2022 NHL Awards show, but three Caps players garnered votes for the end-of-season trophies.

Let’s review.

Hart Trophy

Alex Ovechkin, in his 36-year season, finished 10th in the Hart Trophy vote after scoring 50 goals for the ninth time in his career and scoring 90 points in 77 games, the sixth-most in his career. Ovechkin got two votes for fourth place and four for fifth place.

Despite Ovechkin’s huge year, according to PHWA he finished behind three other left-wingers: Johnny Gaudreau (40g, 75a), Jonathan Huberdeau (30g, 85a) and Kirill Kaprizov (47g, 61a).

The winner of this year’s MVP trophy was Auston Matthews.

Photo: NHL PR

According to NHL PR, Matthews is the 21st different player in NHL history – and the first in a decade – to score 60 goals in one season. He is also the first Toronto Maple Leafs player to win Hart since Ted Kennedy in 1954-55 and the third-ever Toronto player. Matthews also went home with the Ted Lindsay Award (players’ MVP) and the Rocket Richard Trophy (most goals).

Connor McDavid (44g, 79a) finished second in the voting while Vezina Trophy winner Igor Shesterkin finished third (2.07 GAA, .935 SV%).

Norris Trophy

Defender of the capitals John Carlson finished 10th in the 2022 Norris Trophy race after receiving four votes for fourth place and 16 votes for fifth place. Carlson scored the fifth most points among all NHL defenders, scoring 71 points in 78 games. His 17 goals were the quarter-finest of all the rearguards.

Cale Makar was this year’s trophy winner, what will likely be the first of many.

Photo: NHL PR

According to the NHL:

Makar helped the Avalanche score a 119-point franchise record by leading NHL defenders with 28 goals, becoming only the fifth defender in the past 30 years to reach that total (Brent Burns, 29 in 2016-17; Mike Green, 31 in 2008-09; Al MacInnis, 28 in 1993-94; and Kevin Hatcher, 34 in 1992-93). He finished second among the blueliners in terms of points (28-58-86) – the total number of goals and points that scored the franchise for defenders – and finished fifth among all NHL plus-minus (+ 48).

Nashville Predators defender Roman Josi finished second (25 points) while Tampa Bay Lightning’s Victor Hedman finished third.

Calder Trophy

Capitals rookie defender Martin Fehervary received a fifth place as NHL Rookie of the Year, finishing in 14th place. The 22-year-old Slovakian scored 17 points (8g, 9a) in 79 games while skating in the first pair with John Carlson for the entire season. Fehervary’s eight goals were the highest for an NHL rookie defender this season, while his 17 points were in sixth place.

Detroit Red Wings defender Moritz Seider took home this year’s Calder Trophy.

Photo: NHL PR

Seider had 50 points (7g, 43a). Only two blueliner rookies in the last 30 years have had more: Quinn Hughes: 8-45—53 in 2019-20 with the Vancouver Canucks and Vladimir Malakhov: 14-38—52 in 1992-93 with the New York Islanders.

First and Second Team All-Stars

Photo: NHL PR

Photo: NHL PR

Two Washington Capitals received votes for the NHL’s end-of-season first and second All-Stars team. Alex Ovechkin, as he did in the Hart Trophy vote, finished as the fourth best left winger, receiving one vote for first place, one vote for second and 19 votes for third place.

John Carlson finished ninth among defenders after receiving four votes in second place and 53 votes in third place.

All rookie team

Photo: NHL PR

Fehervary also received votes for the NHL’s end-of-season All-Rookie Team. The Marty Party finished sixth among all rookie defenders in the NHL, receiving four points in total.

Connor McMichael did not receive any forward votes.

Leave a Comment